Technology

The combined cycle power plant (CCGT) is a safe, clean and efficient form of power generation. Natural gas is injected into the gas turbine of the power station, and burnt to generate power in the generator. The hot exhaust gases from this process are re-used and passed through a heat recovery steam generator (HRSG). There they are used to generate high pressure steam, which drives a steam turbine to produce additional electricity. Condensed steam from the turbine is recycled back into the heat recovery steam generator. This combined cycle ensures that the plant efficiency is maximised. The exhaust gas escapes through the stack.

The generated electricity is fed into the high-voltage electricity grid via the switchyard. The hybrid cooling cells use water and air to cool down the remaining heat in a condensation process before it is released into the atmosphere.

 

CCGT+process+NL+w545px

The proposed power plant will have a capacity of 920 megawatts (MW) divided into two identical units of 460MW each. Each main plant unit, also called the power island, will consist of a turbine hall housing one gas and one steam turbine, as well as the generator. The turbine hall is connected to the boiler, which generates steam for the steam cycle. Cooled-down exhaust gases from the boiler escape through the stack, which forms the end of the power island.

The cooling system consists of several cooling cells, which use water and air to cool down the exhaust heat. This heat has a relatively low temperature and cannot be further used for power generation. The generated electricity will pass through the switchyard into the connection from the power plant to the high-voltage transmission grid owned by Elia.

The image below shows how the future power plant may look. It has been produced for demonstration purposes only, and the final plant layout may be optimised during the planning process:

 

DE+Site+layout+with+tags+NL+w545px

Technologie

La centrale électrique à cycle combiné (TGV) est une forme de production d’énergie sûre, propre et efficace.  Le gaz naturel est injecté dans la turbine à gaz de la centrale électrique et brûlé pour produire de l’énergie au moyen du générateur. Les gaz d’échappement chauds de ce processus sont réutilisés. Ils transitent par un générateur de vapeur à récupération de chaleur (HRSG). Là, ils sont utilisés pour produire de la vapeur à haute pression, qui entraîne une turbine à vapeur afin de produire de l’électricité supplémentaire. La vapeur condensée de la turbine est à nouveau recyclée dans le générateur de vapeur à récupération de chaleur. Ce cycle combiné maximalise l’efficacité de l’installation. Les gaz d’échappement s’échappent par la cheminée.

L’électricité produite est injectée dans le réseau électrique à haute tension via le poste électrique extérieur. Les cellules de refroidissement hybrides utilisent de l’eau et de l’air pour refroidir la chaleur résiduelle dans un processus de condensation avant de la relâcher dans l’atmosphère.

 

CCGT+process+NL+w545px

La centrale électrique proposée aura une capacité de 920 mégawatts (MW), produite par deux unités identiques de 460 MW chacune. Chaque unité principale, également appelée île de puissance, est constituée d’un hall de turbines abritant une turbine à gaz, une turbine à vapeur et le générateur. Le hall de turbines est relié au boiler, qui produit de la vapeur pour le cycle de vapeur. Les gaz d’échappement refroidis dans le boiler s’échappent par la cheminée, qui constitue l’extrémité de l’île de puissance.

Le système de refroidissement est composé de plusieurs cellules qui utilisent l’eau et l’air pour refroidir la chaleur résiduelle des gaz d’échappement. Cette chaleur a une température relativement faible et ne peut plus être utilisée pour la production d’énergie. L’électricité produite passera par le poste électrique extérieur de la centrale, connecté au réseau de transmission haute tension d’Elia.

L’illustration ci-dessous montre comment pourrait se présenter la future centrale électrique. Elle a été réalisée uniquement à des fins de démonstration. L’agencement final de la centrale est susceptible d’être optimisé durant la planification :

DE+Site+layout+with+tags+NL+w545px